Department of English Language and Literature

  • Welcome Message
  • Vision, Mission, Objectives
  • Dept. Staff
  • Degree & Study Plan
  • Quality Assurance
  • Dept. Activities
  • List of Honours- Fall2016
  • Dept. Handbook
  • Useful Links

 

 

 
Dr. Abdul Gabbar Al-Sharafi
Head of Department
Department of English Language and Literature
alsharaf@squ.edu.om
 
Welcome Message:
-----------------------------

Welcome to Sultan Qaboos University’s Department of English Language and Literature. Whether you would like to pursue study in English Language and Literature, Translation or English Language Teaching, we can make this possible. Our vibrant department ensures that all its members – faculty and students - engage in high quality learning and leading-edge scholarship. Our research interests are diverse and our student activities are acclaimed campus-wide. In addition to attractive undergraduate offerings, our Diploma/Master's Program in Translation provides a postgraduate training that blends essential theory with an emphasis on the professional skills needed in the job market. Indeed graduates of all four of our programs have an established record of employment success and acceptance for further study in respected universities worldwide. For more information please visit the department’s website. 
 

 

 

 

Vision:

The Department of English aims to assume a leading position in the region in terms of high quality teaching and innovative research in areas related to English language, literature, linguistics and translation, and to produce well-trained, informed graduates able to think critically, express themselves and play active roles in society and future careers.
 
Mission:
 
The Department’s mission is to provide a stimulating and dynamic environment forinnovative teaching, scholarship and research sustained by collaborative work in its four areas of language, literature, linguistics and translation. Committed to relevant best practice, the Department works to provide students with advanced practical, critical and interpretative skills vital for career success, future study, and effective citizenship.
 

Objectives:

he Department aims to provide an environment conducive to collaborative scholarship and critical debate and supportive of faculty members’ active engagement in high quality research and publication.

The Department aims to produce graduates:

  • capable of independent creative and academic achievement and equipped with a range of specialized and transferrable skills, including the high-order conceptual, literacy and communication skills valued in graduate employment
  • committed to furthering their personal, intellectual, social and professional development through English
  • equipped with broad knowledge and understand
           
      Dr. Abdul Gabbar Al-Sharafi
Head of Department
PhD – Text Linguistics
Extension: 1609
Office No.: 1214
alsharaf@squ.edu.om
CV
 Dr. Hassan Shuqair
Associate Professor
PhD
- Sociolinguistics

Extension: 1620
Office No.: 1217
hshuqair@squ.edu.om
CV

 

   

Dr. Abdulmoneim Mahmoud
Associate Professor
PhD
- Applied Linguistics
Extension: 2039
Office No.: 1199
amahmoud@squ.edu.om

CV

 Dr. Najma Al Zidjaly
Associate Professor
PhD
- Sociolinguistics
Extension: 3274
Office No.: 1212
najmaz@gmail.com
cv 

 

    Dr. Rahma Al Marooqi
Associate Professor
Deputy Vice Chancellor, Postgraduate Studies and Research
ELT
Extension: 1675
Office No.: 1218
mrahma@squ.edu.om
CV

Dr. Adel Abu Radwan
Associate Professor
Applied Linguistics

Extension: 2020
Office No.: 1205
radwan@squ.edu.om

CV


             

 DrChristaNew  

Dr. Christa Knellwolf King
Associate Professor
PhD - Literature            
Extension: 3275
Office No.: 1211
cknellwolf@squ.edu.om
CV 

DrMohammadThawabteh

Dr. Mohammad Ahmad Thawabteh
Associate Professor
PhD – Translation and Intercultural Studies
Extension:
Office No.: 1213
m_thawa@squ.edu.om
cv

 

   

Dr. Sakina Al Alaoui
Assistant Professor
PhD - Sociolinguistics
Extension: 3285
Office No: 1204
Sakina@squ.edu.om
cv

DrmuslamNew2

Dr. Mussallam Al Maani
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Studies
PhD - Translation 
Extension: 2035 
Office No.: 1198 
musallam@squ.edu.om
cv

 

 

 

Dr. Munira Hejaiej
Assistant Professor
PhD - Literature 
Extension: 2023 
Office No.: 1206 
mhejaiej@squ.edu.om
cv

Dr. Mohamed-Habib Kahlaoui
Assistant Professor
PhD – Contrastive Linguistics 
Extension: 2095 
Office No.: 1207 
azizk@squ.edu.om 
CV
 

 

   

Dr. Mounir Benzid
Assistant Professor
PhD - Literature 
Extension: 3278 
Office No.: 1197 
mounir@squ.edu.om
cv

 Dr. Khalid Al Belushi
Assistant Professor
PhD –Literary Stylistics & Translation 
Extension: 1659 
Office No.: 1208 
khalidb@squ.edu.om 
CV
 

 

   

Dr. Nada al Ajami
Assistant Professor
PhD - Literature 
Extension: 3285 
Office No.: 1204 
nadar@squ.edu.om
cv 

Dr. Rashid Al-Balushi
Assistant Professor
PhD – Theoretical Linguistics 
Extension: 1659 
Office No.: 1208 
rash5222@squ.edu.om 
CV
 

 

   

Dr. Sandhya Rao Mehta
Assistant Professor
PhD - Literature 
Extension: 2016 
Office No.: 1203 
rao@squ.edu.om
cv

Dr. Mohammed Al-Alawi
Assistant Professor 
PhD – Second Language Education 
Extension: 2979 
Office No.: 1216 
malawi@squ.edu.om
cv

 

 

   

Dr. Khalsa Al Aghbari
Assistant Professor
PhD – Theoretical Linguistics 
Extension: 2017 
Office No: 1213 
khalsah@squ.edu.om
cv

Dr. Chandrika Katrina Balasubramanian
Assistant Professor
Applied Linguistics
Extension: 3282
Office No: 0075
chandribala@squ.edu.om
cv

 

   

Dr. Susanne Shunnaq
Assistant Professor
Literature
Extension:3282
Office: 0075
susanne99@squ.edu.om 
cv

Dr. Kirsten Hemmy
Assistant Professor
PhD – Creative Writing
Extension: 2095
Office No.: 1207
kabadji@squ.edu.om
cv

 

   

Dr. Said Al Jahdhami
Assistant Professor
Linguistics
Extension: 1659
Office No: 1208
saidhz@squ.edu.om

cv

Dr. Khaled al Shehari
Assistant Professor
PhD
- Translation Studies
Extension: 2015
Office No.: 1202
kshehari@squ.edu.om
CV

 

 
 

   

Dr. Fathiya Al Rashdi
Assistant Professor
PhD
- Sociolinguistics
Extension : 2017
Office No.: 1213
rfathiya@squ.edu.om
cv

 

Dr. Fatma Al Rubaiey
Deputy Head of Department
PhD – Applied Linguistics: Language Culture & Identity
Extension: 2016
Office No: 1203
rubaiey@squ.edu.om

 

   

Dr. Emily Jane O'Dell
Assistant Professor
PhD
– Egyptology (Philology)

Extension: 2035
Office No.: 1198

 emilyodell@squ.edu.om
CV

 

Dr. Fouzi Bellalem
Assistant Professor
PhD – Applied Linguistics
Extension: 2015
Office No: 1202
fbellalem@squ.edu.om

 

 DrGerard  

Dr Gerard Dineen
Assistant Professor
PhD -  Anglo-Irish Literature
Extension: 2015
Office No: 1202
gerard@squ.edu.om
cv

Dr. Eleonora Esposito
Assistant Professor
PhD – Critical Discourse Analysis
Extension: 2023

Office No: 1206
eesposito@squ.edu.om

 

DrMahmoudSalami  

Dr. Mahmoud Salami
Visiting Scholars
PhD – English Novel
Extension: 2035
Office No: 1198
mahmoudsalami@squ.edu.om
cv

DrNabilAlawi

Dr. Nabil M Alawi
Visiting Scholars
PhD – American Literature
Extension: 2016
Office No: 1203
dr.alawi@squ.edu.com
cv

 

   

Mr. Hammal Al Belushi
On Study Leave
hammal@squ.edu.om
CV

Ms. Lina Al Jamali
Lecturers
MA - Literature
Extension: 3277
Office No.: 1209
jamalil@squ.edu.om

 cv 

 


 

   

Ms. Azza Al Kindi
On Study Leave
azzakindi@squ.edu.om
cv

Ms. Maryam Al Hinai
On Study Leave
maryama@squ.edu.om


 

   

Ms. Sara Al Sheyadi
On Study Leave
alsheyadi@squ.edu.om
cv

  Ms. Suaad Ambusaidi
On Study Leave
suaada@squ.edu.om
 
         Ancy Furtado
Co-ordinator
Extension: 2027
Office No.: 1215
ancy@squ.edu.om

 

  EnglishDeptPrestatio...    
         
         
         

 

     
   List of Honours- Fall2016  
     
 
 No.  Name  Distinction/Honour
 1  Bushra Najeeb Ali Ahmed Al Rawas  Distinction
 2  Anwaar Mohammed Salim Al Mashani  Distinction
 3  Asila Said Mohsin Al Adawi  Honours
 
     

Federal Credit Union

www.esl.org

 

Cambridge Dictionaries

http://dictionary.cambridge.org

 

Learners Dictionary

http://www.learnersdictionary.com

 

Ministry of Education - Oman

http://www.mohe.gov.om/

 

Educational Portal –The Ministry of Education - Oman

http://home.moe.gov.om/arabic/index.moe