Department of English Language and Literature

  • Welcome Message
  • Vision, Mission,Objectives
  • Dept. Staff
  • Degree & Study Plan
  • Quality Assurance
  • Dept. Activities
  • List of Honours- Fall2016
  • Dept. Handbook
  • Useful Links

 


 
Dr. Abdul Gabbar Al-Sharafi
Head of Department
Department of English Language and Literature
alsharaf@squ.edu.om
 
Welcome Message:
-----------------------------

Welcome to Sultan Qaboos University’s Department of English Language and Literature. Whether you would like to pursue study in English Language and Literature, Translation or English Language Teaching, we can make this possible. Our vibrant department ensures that all its members – faculty and students - engage in high quality learning and leading-edge scholarship. Our research interests are diverse and our student activities are acclaimed campus-wide. In addition to attractive undergraduate offerings, our Diploma/Master's Program in Translation provides a postgraduate training that blends essential theory with an emphasis on the professional skills needed in the job market. Indeed graduates of all four of our programs have an established record of employment success and acceptance for further study in respected universities worldwide. For more information please visit the department’s website. 
 

Vision

The Department of English aims to assume a leading position in the region in terms of high quality teaching and innovative research in areas related to English language, literature, linguistics and translation, and to produce well-trained, informed graduates able to think critically, express themselves and play active roles in society and future careers.

 

Mission

The Department’s mission is to provide a stimulating and dynamic environment forinnovative teaching, scholarship and research sustained by collaborative work in its four areas of language, literature, linguistics and translation. Committed to relevant best practice, the Department works to provide students with advanced practical, critical and interpretative skills vital for career success, future study, and effective citizenship.

 

Objectives

he Department aims to provide an environment conducive to collaborative scholarship and critical debate and supportive of faculty members’ active engagement in high quality research and publication.

The Department aims to produce graduates:

  • capable of independent creative and academic achievement and equipped with a range of specialized and transferrable skills, including the high-order conceptual, literacy and communication skills valued in graduate employment
  • committed to furthering their personal, intellectual, social and professional development through English
  • equipped with broad knowledge and understand
   
Dr. Abdul Gabbar Al-Sharafi
PhD – Text Linguistics
Extension: 1609
Office No.: 1214
alsharaf@squ.edu.om
CV 
 
Associate Professors   

 Dr. Hassan Shuqair
PhD - Sociolinguistics

Extension: 1620
Office No.: 1217
hshuqair@squ.edu.om
CV
           

 

Dr. Abdulmoneim Mahmoud
PhD - Applied Linguistics

Associate Professor
Extension: 2039
Office No.: 1199
amahmoud@squ.edu.om

CV

 

 Dr. Najma Al Zidjaly
PhD - Sociolinguistics            
Extension: 3274
Office No.: 1212
najmaz@gmail.com

cv            

 
Dr. Rahma Al Marooqi
Deputy Vice Chancellor, Postgraduate Studies and Research
ELT
Extension: 1675
Office No.: 1218
mrahma@squ.edu.om
CV

 

Dr. Adel Abu Radwan
Applied Linguistics

Extension: 2020
Office No.: 1205
                 

radwan@squ.edu.om

 CV

 

Dr. Christa Knellwolf King
PhD - Literature            
Extension: 3275
Office No.: 1211
cknellwolf@squ.edu.om

CV 
             

 
Assistant Professors   

Dr. Sakina Al Alaoui
PhD - Sociolinguistics
Extension: 3285
Office No: 1204
Sakina@squ.edu.om

cv 

 
 

Dr. Mussallam Al Maani 
PhD - Translation 
Extension: 2035 
Office No.: 1198 
musallam@squ.edu.om

cv

 
 

Dr. Munira Hejaiej 
PhD - Literature 
Extension: 2023 
Office No.: 1206 
mhejaiej@squ.edu.om

cv

 
 Dr. Mohamed-Habib Kahlaoui 
PhD – Contrastive Linguistics 
Extension: 2095 
Office No.: 1207 
azizk@squ.edu.om 
CV
 
 

Dr. Mounir Benzid 
PhD - Literature 
Extension: 3278 
Office No.: 1197 
mounir@squ.edu.om

cv

 
  Dr. Khalid Al Belushi 
PhD –Literary Stylistics & Translation 
Extension: 1659 
Office No.: 1208 
khalidb@squ.edu.om 
CV
 
 

Dr. Nada al Ajami 
PhD - Literature 
Extension: 3285 
Office No.: 1204 
nadar@squ.edu.om

cv 

 
 

Dr. Sandhya Rao Mehta 
PhD - Literature 
Extension: 2016 
Office No.: 1203 
rao@squ.edu.om

cv

 
 

 Dr. Ayesha Heble 
PhD – ELT 
Extension: 2017 
Office No.: 1213 
aheble@squ.edu.om

CV 

 
 Dr. Rashid Al-Balushi 
PhD – Theoretical Linguistics 
Extension: 1659 
Office No.: 1208 
rash5222@squ.edu.om 
CV
 
 

 Dr. Khalsa Al Aghbari 
PhD – Theoretical Linguistics 
Extension: 2017 
Office No: 1213 
khalsah@squ.edu.om

cv

 
 

Dr. Mohammed Al-Alawi 
Deputy Head of Department 
PhD – Second Language Education 
Extension: 2979 
Office No.: 1216 
malawi@squ.edu.om

cv

 

Dr. Susanne Shunnaq
Literature Assistant Professor
Extension:3282
Office: 0075
susanne99@squ.edu.om 

cv

 

 Dr. Chandrika Katrina Balasubramanian
Applied Linguistics Assistant professor
Extension: 3282
Office No: 0075
chandribala@squ.edu.om

cv

 

 Dr. Said Al Jahdhami
Linguistics Assistant Professor
Extension: 1659
Office No: 1208
saidhz@squ.edu.om

cv

 

Dr. Kirsten Hemmy
PhD – Creative Writing
Extension: 2095
Office No.: 1207
kabadji@squ.edu.om

cv 
 

 

Dr. Fathiya Al Rashdi
PhD - Sociolinguistics
Extension : 2017
Office No.: 1213
rfathiya@squ.edu.om

cv

 
 

 

 Dr. Khaled al Shehari
PhD - Translation Studies
Extension: 2015
Office No.: 1202
kshehari@squ.edu.om

CV

 

 

 Dr. Emily Jane O'Dell
PhD – Egyptology (Philology)
Extension: 2035
Office No.: 1198
 emilyodell@squ.edu.om  

CV

 
 

Dr. Fatma Al Rubaiey

PhD – Applied Linguistics: Language Culture & Identity

Extension: 2016

Office No: 1203

rubaiey@squ.edu.om

 

Dr. Eleonora Esposito

PhD – Critical Discourse Analysis

Extension: 2023

Office No: 1206
eesposito@squ.edu.om

 

Dr. Fouzi Bellalem

PhD – Applied Linguistics

Extension: 2015
Office No: 1202
fbellalem@squ.edu.om


 
Lecturers   

Ms. Lina Al Jamali
MA - Literature
Extension: 3277
Office No.: 1209
jamalil@squ.edu.om

 cv           
 

 
On Study Leave   

Ms. Azza Al Kindi
azzakindi@squ.edu.om

cv


 

 
 Ms. Maryam Al Hinai
maryama@squ.edu.om
 

Ms. Sara Al Sheyadi
alsheyadi@squ.edu.om

cv
 

 
Ms. Suaad Ambusaidi
suaada@squ.edu.om
 
 
Mr. Hammal Al Belushi
hammal@squ.edu.om
CV
 
 Co-ordinator  
 Ancy Furtado
Dept. Co-ordinator
Extension: 2027
Office No.: 1215
ancy@squ.edu.om
 

 

  EnglishDeptPrestatio...    
         
         
         

 

     
   List of Honours- Fall2016  
     
 
 No.  Name  Distinction/Honour
 1  Bushra Najeeb Ali Ahmed Al Rawas  Distinction
 2  Anwaar Mohammed Salim Al Mashani  Distinction
 3  Asila Said Mohsin Al Adawi  Honours
 
     

Federal Credit Union

www.esl.org

 

Cambridge Dictionaries

http://dictionary.cambridge.org

 

Learners Dictionary

http://www.learnersdictionary.com

 

Ministry of Education - Oman

http://www.mohe.gov.om/

 

Educational Portal –The Ministry of Education - Oman

http://home.moe.gov.om/arabic/index.moe