Industrial Advisory Board

The Department Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) provides an independent, expert review and critique of the academic activities of the Department in such a way that improves the quality of teaching, research and services. In addition to that, it enhances the visibility of the Department in the engineering community. To accomplish these aims, the IAB is involved in carrying out the following functions:

  • Review the program educational objectives to ensure that they meet the industrial needs as well as ABET Engineering Criteria.

  • Evaluate strengths, merits, and weaknesses of the current curriculum in the context of the Department mission and program educational objectives.

  • Provide recommendations to the Department on all matters related to the curriculum, to improve the relationship between academic and professional practices.

  • Review student performances relative to the program outcomes from an industrial point of view and propose strategies for continuous improvement of the program.

  • Help in identifying opportunities for student’s involvement in research and capstone projects.

  • Review the Department activities and plans related to research, consultancy, and short courses and make recommendations.

  • Help in identifying opportunities for faculty research and development.

  • Help in soliciting funds for scholarships and endowments.

  • Help in placing students for work experience programs.

  • Provide assistance towards the review of student work and the collection of assessment data.


Current members of the ECED’s IAB include:






Abdullah Nasib  Al Hamer

General Manager, Network Planning Design Division

Representative: Yousef Azizi

Oman Telecommunication Company S.A.O.G


Engr. Mohammad Al-Kindi

Telecommunication Regulatory Authority (TRA)


Engr. Abdullah Al Badri, CEO

Representative:  Yousef Al Mahruqi, the Sr. Manager of Projects Delivery Unit

Muscat Electricity Distribution Company (MEDC)


Engr. Khamis All-Barhi



Mr. Qais Saud Al-Zakwani, Executive director & Member

Representative: Ibrahim Al-Harthy

Authority for Electricity Regulation (AER)


Said Saud Al-Shidhani, Head of IM&T Projects

Representative: Abdullah Al-Rashdi, Snr. Technology Architect (IM&T)

Petroleum Development Oman LLC. (PDO)


Mr. Abdullah Masoud Ali Al-Kaabi

Project Manager (Technical)

Petroleum Development Oman LLC. (PDO)