The Shell Chair in Carbonate Geosciences, which was established in 2006, is a joint venture between Sultan Qaboos University and Shell International.

The Shell Chair is intended to support the goals of the OGRC by leading the development of research and training programs with particular emphasis on carbonate reservoir characterization and modeling.

The first professor to occupy this position was Prof. John K. Warren, who served SQU from 2007-2008.

The second professor to occupy this position was Dr. Stephen Neville Ehrenberg, who served SQU from 2010-2013.

The present Shell Chair Dr. Svetlana Rudyk, who joined SQU in May 2014.