About Us
  • DPS Structure
  • Postgraduate Board


Postgraduate Board

The Postgraduate Studies Board is chaired by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Postgraduate Studies & Research and its members include the Dean of Postgraduate Studies (Board's Deputy Chair), the Dean of Admissions & Registration, and the colleges' Assistant Deans for Postgraduate Studies & Research. Two members of the faculty (Associate Professor or Professor) are appointed by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Postgraduate Studies & Research for a period of two years.

The general functions of the Board are:

  • To study and conduct periodic reviews of academic regulations.
  • To evaluate and recommend postgraduates programs proposed by various colleges.
  • To develop the standards necessary to maintain the academic quality of postgraduate programs.
  • To make future plan for postgraduate studies.
  • To assess the annual report for postgraduate studies before submitting to the Vice-Chancellor.
  • To evaluate the annual budget for postgraduate studies.
  • To study other matters brought to the Board.


The Postgraduate Studies Board shall meet at least once per semester at the request of the Chair. The Board can establish subcommittees from its members or others to help in the execution of its duties.

Postgraduate Studies Board's Members


Dr. Rahma Al Mahrouqi


Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Postgraduate Studies & Research (Chair)


Prof. Abdulla Ambusaid

Dean of Postgraduate Studies (Deputy Chair)


Dr. Hussain Al Kharusi

Dean of Admissions & Registration


Prof. Mohammed Elamin Elzain

College of Science


Dr. wajeha Thabit Khadhim Al-Ani

College of Education


Assistant Deans for Postgraduate Studies & Research

Dr. Ali Al-Maktoomi

College of Agricultural & Marine Sciences


Dr. Nabahan  Al-Harrasi 

College of Arts and Social Sciences


Dr. Shahid Al Belushi

College of Economics and Political science


Dr. Adnan Salim Abed

College of Education


Dr. Abdullah Hilal Salim Al-Saidi 

College of Engineering


Dr. Abdullah Al-Abri

College of Law


Dr. Khalid Al Balushi

College of Medicine and Health Sciences


Dr. Mudhahir Al Ajmi

College of Science


Dr. Erna Roach 

College of Nursing