Sunday, April 26, 2015
University Home
Dean's Message



The College of Science is one of the first established colleges and is the largest in the Sultan Qaboos University. The College is comprised of 6 departments: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Sciences, Earth Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics and Physics. The faculty of the college is up to date in teaching methodologies, laboratory techniques, and field sciences.

The undergraduate programs are periodically modified to meet the needs of the Sultanate of Oman at the international standards. Faculty members have high credentials from well recognized international institutions.

Research by the faculty is highly encouraged to keep up with modern teaching and research. Undergraduate students are encouraged to conduct research under the supervision of the faculty members to gain experience in modern research prior to their graduation.

The graduate programs in the 6 departments are well established in various disciplines of technology and science. At present the Masters degree is offered in all departments. Several students have graduated and are serving the community. Some pursue their PhD program at SQU or other International institutions. The PhD programs have been established in the college. Outstanding Omani and foreign students are encouraged to apply for the graduate programs. His majesty (HM) has always encouraged modern research at SQU. His majesty’s grants have made it possible to carry strategic research projects which eventually benefit the Sultanate. Other external and internal grants are also available to carry out various research projects. Several analytical and applied research facilities are continuously developed to meet the needs of faculty and the students in teaching and research.

Staff members in the college are active in community service and consultancies. This service is encouraged by the college and the university.

It is a pleasure to welcome you to browse through the pages for more details.


Prof. Salma Al-Kindy
Dean, College of Science

Copyright (c) 2015 College of Science