Department of English Language and Literature

 
 Dr. Khalsa Al Aghbari
    Head of Department
Associate Professor
PhD – Theoretical Linguistics 
Extension: 1609 
Office No: 1214 
khalsah@squ.edu.om
cv
 

Research interests:

   morphology
   phonology
   TESOL
 
 
 Dr. Fatma Al Rubaiey

blank637081070308501577

  Deputy Head of Department
PhD – Applied Linguistics:
Language Culture & Identity
Extension: 2016
Office No: 1203
rubaiey@squ.edu.om
 
Research interests:
 Pragmatics
 -  Culture
 -  Identity
 
 
 
 Dr. Abdulmoneim Mahmoud
 

DrAbdlmoneim

  Associate Professor
PhD - Applied Linguistics
Extension: 2039
Office No.: 1199
amahmoud@squ.edu.om

CV
 
Research interests:  
classroom-oriented action research in TEFL
contrastive linguistics
 - first and second language acquisition
 
 
  Dr. Adel Abu Radwan
    Associate Professor
Applied Linguistics
Extension: 2020
Office No.: 1205
radwan@squ.edu.om
CV
 
Research interests: 
- psycholinguistics
- second language acquisition
- individual differences in EFL
 
 
    Dr. Christa Knellwolf King      Dr. Hassan Shuqair  
 
 

DrChristaNew

  Associate Professor
PhD - Literature            
Extension: 3275
Office No.: 1211
cknellwolf@squ.edu.om
CV 
 
Research interests: 
cognitive processes of reading 
- reader identification 
- narratives as a means of crossing cultural boundaries 
 
    Associate Professor
PhD - Sociolinguistics
Extension: 1620
Office No.: 1217
hshuqair@squ.edu.om
CV
 
Research interests: 
- sociolinguistics 
- language and identity
- critical discourse analysis
 
         
 
  Dr. Mahmoud Salami
  Associate Professor
PhD – Literature
Extension: 2017
Office No.: 1213
m.salami@squ.edu.om 

cv
  Research interests: 
- The English Novel
- Modern Literary Theory and Criticism 
- Narratology and Communication
 
 
 Dr. Najma Al Zidjaly
   
Associate Professor
PhD - Sociolinguistics
Extension: 3274
Office No.: 1212
najmaz@gmail.com
cv 
 
Research interests: 
- social media and Arab (Omani) identity
- disability and technology
- language, religion and culture
 
 
 
  Dr. Rahma Al Marooqi

DrRahma

  Professor
Deputy Vice Chancellor,
Postgraduate Studies and Research
Extension: 1675
Office No.: 1218
mrahma@squ.edu.om

CV
 
Research interests:  
language teaching and learning
 - literature
 - sociolinguistic studies
 
 
 Dr Anna Fancett

anna

  Assistant Professor
PhD in English Literature, Aberdeen University
Extension: 2095
Office No.: 1027
annaf@squ.edu.om

cv
   
 
 
 
Dr. Chandrika Katrina Balasubramanian
    Assistant Professor
Applied Linguistics
Extension: 3282
Office No: 0075
chandribala@squ.edu.om
cv
   Research interests: 
   world Englishes
   pedagogical implication of world Englishes
   vocabulary acquisition in EFL context
 
 
 
  Dr. Fathiya Al Rashdi
    Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Studies
PhD - Sociolinguistics
Extension : 1655
Office No.: 2460
rfathiya@squ.edu.om
cv
  Research interests: 
 -  computer-mediated discourse
 - identity construction
 -  interaction
 
 
 
 
  Dr. Abdul Gabbar Al-Sharafi

DrAbdlGabbar637084380403942770

  PhD – Text Linguistics
Extension: 1609
Office No.: 1214
alsharaf@squ.edu.om 
CV
 
   Research interests: 
 - translation quality assessment
 - translator training and translation pedagogy
 - Qur’anic translation
 
 Dr Gerard Dineen

DrGerard

  Assistant Professor
PhD -  Anglo-Irish Literature
Extension: 2015
Office No: 1202
gerard@squ.edu.om
cv
  Research interests:
   Anglo-Irish literature
   the early fiction of the writer George Birmingham
   
 
 
  Dr. Habib Kahlaoui
    Assistant Professor
PhD – Contrastive Linguistics 
Extension: 2095 
Office No.: 1207 

azizk@squ.edu.om 
CV
  Research interests: 
 contrastive linguistics
-  translation studies
-  text linguistics
 
 Dr. Khalid Al Belushi
    Assistant Professor
PhD –Literary Stylistics & Translation 
Extension: 1659 
Office No.: 1208 
khalidb@squ.edu.om 
CV
 
 
 
  Dr. Kirsten Hemmy
    Assistant Professor
PhD – Creative Writing
Extension: 2095
Office No.: 1207
kabadji@squ.edu.om 
cv
  Research interests:
   creative writing
   interdisciplinarity in the arts
   poetry
 
 
  Dr. Lheisa Dustin
  Assistant Professor
Extension: 2023
Office No.: 1206 
lheisa@squ.edu.om
 
 
 
   Dr. Maryam Al Hinai
  Head of Quality Assurance
and Academic Accreditation Unit

Assistant Professor

Extension: 2035
Office No.: 1198
maryama@squ.edu.om
  Research interests: 
  intercultural communication 
   communication
    critical cultural discourse
 
 
Dr. Mohammed Al-Alawi
    Assistant Dean for
Postgraduate Studies and Research

Assistant Professor 
PhD – Second Language Education 
Extension: 2979 
Office No.: 1216 
malawi@squ.edu.om
cv
   Research interests:
  Second Language Writing
   Writing Assessment 
  Program Evaluation
 
 
 
 Dr. Mounir Benzid
    Assistant Professor
PhD - Literature 
Extension: 3278 
Office No.: 1197 
mounir@squ.edu.om
cv
  Research interests:
 -  literature
 -  stylistics
 -  critical linguistics
 
  Dr. Munira Hejaiej
    Assistant Professor
PhD - Literature 
Extension: 2023 
Office No.: 1206 
mhejaiej@squ.edu.om
cv
   Research interests:
 World Literature
-  African American Literature
-  Modern Arabic Literature
 
 
 
  Dr. Mussallam Al Maani
  Associate Professor 
PhD - Translation 
Extension: 2035 
Office No.: 1198 
musallam@squ.edu.om
cv
   Research interests:
 technical translation
 translator training
-  translation studies
 
 
 
       
 
 
   Dr. Rashid Al-Balushi
  Associate Professor
PhD – Theoretical Linguistics 
Extension: 1659 
Office No.: 1208 
rash5222@squ.edu.om 
CV
  Research interests:
   syntax
   standard Arabic morphosyntax
   Omani Arabic dialects
 
 
 Dr. Said Al Jahdhami
   Assistant Professor
Linguistics
Extension: 1659
Office No: 1208
saidhz@squ.edu.om

cv
   Research interests:
   endangered languages
   documentary linguistic
   dialectology
 
 
    Dr. Sakina Al Alaoui     Dr. Sandhya Rao Mehta  
 
  Assistant Professor
PhD - Sociolinguistics
Extension: 3285
Office No: 1204
Sakina@squ.edu.om
cv
 
Research interests:
 sociolinguistics
 -  discourse analysis
 -  discourse and identity
 
    Associate Professor
PhD - Literature 
Extension: 2016 
Office No.: 1203 
rao@squ.edu.om
cv
   Research interests:
   globalization and Literature
   diaspora Studies
   postcolonial Literature
 
         
 
  Dr. Susanne Shunnaq
    Assistant Professor
Literature
Extension:3282
Office: 0075
susanne99@squ.edu.om 
cv
   Research interests:
   American literature
   cultural studies
   modern and contemporary prose
 
 
 Ms. Lina Al Jamali
    Lecturers
MA - Literature
Extension: 3277
Office No.: 1209
     
 
 
 
 Ms. Azza Al Kindi
    On Study Leave
azzakindi@squ.edu.om

 
     
 
 
  Mr. Hammal Al Belushi
  On Study Leave
hammal@squ.edu.om

 
 
 
  Ms. Sara Al Sheyadi
    On Study Leave
alsheyadi@squ.edu.om

 
     
 
 
Ms. Suaad Ambusaidi 
   
On Study Leave
suaada@squ.edu.om
     
 
 
 
 Ancy Furtado
    Co-ordinator
Extension: 2027
Office No.: 1215
ancy@squ.edu.om