Department of English Language and Literature

 

 
    Dr. Khalsa Al Aghbari
Head of Department
Associate Professor
PhD, Theoretical Linguistics 
Extension: 1609 
Office No: 1214 

khalsah@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests:
 
  • Morphology
 
  • Phonology
 
  • TESOL
Dr. Faisal AlMamari
Deputy Head of Department
Assistant Professor
PhD, Critical Applied Linguistics
Extension: 2179
Office No: 1216

faisalf@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests:
 
  • Critical Applied Linguistics
 
  • Language Assessment
 
  • Discourse analysis
DrAbdlmoneim Dr. Abdulmoneim Mahmoud  
Associate Professor
PhD, Applied Linguistics
Extension: 2039
Office No.: 1199

amahmoud@squ.edu.om
 
  Research interests:  
 
  • Classroom-oriented Action Research in TEFL
 
  • Contrastive Linguistics
  
  • First and Second Language Acquisition
 
 

  Dr. Adel Abu Radwan
Associate Professor

PhD, Applied Linguistics
Extension: 2020
Office No.: 1205

radwan@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests: 
 
  • Psycholinguistics
 
  • Second Language Acquisition
 
  • Individual Differences in EFL
 
 
Dr. Mahmoud Salami
Associate Professor

PhD, Literature
Extension: 2017
Office No.: 1213

m.salami@squ.edu.om 
 
  Research interests: 
 
  • The English Novel
 
  • Modern Literary Theory and Criticism 
  
  • Narratology and Communication
 
 
  Dr. Najma Al Zidjaly
Associate Professor

PhD, Sociolinguistics
Extension: 3274
Office No.: 1212

najmaz@gmail.com
  Research interests: 
 
  • Social Media and Arab (Omani) Identity
 
  • Disability and Technology
 
  • Language, Religion and Culture
 
 
Dr. Rashid Al-Balushi
Associate Professor

PhD, Linguistics, University of Toronto, USA, 2010
Extension: 1659 
Office No.: 1208 

rash5222@squ.edu.om 
Curriculum Vitae
Research interests:
 
  •  Syntax
 
  •  Standard Arabic Morphosyntax
 
  •  Omani Arabic Dialects
Dr. Sandhya Rao Mehta
Associate Professor

PhD - Literature 
Extension: 2016 
Office No.: 1203 

rao@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests:
 
  • Globalization and Literature
 
  • Diaspora Studies
 
  • Postcolonial Literature
 
   
 
  Dr. Abdul Gabbar Al-Sharafi
Assistant Professor

PhD, Text Linguistics
Extension: 3277
Office No.: 1209

alsharaf@squ.edu.om 

Curriculum Vitae
 
  Research interests: 
 
  • Translation Studies
 
  • Discourse Analysis
  
  • Rhetoric & Figurative Theory
 
 

Dr. Azza Al Kindi
Assistant Professor

PhD, Linguistics and English Language
Extension: 3822
Office No.: 1200

azzakindi@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests:
 
  • Second Language Acquisition
 
  • Phonology Perception
 
  • Production of L2 Speech Sounds
 
   
 
  Dr. Chandrika Katrina Balasubramanian
Assistant Professor

Applied Linguistics
Extension: 3282
Office No: 0075

chandribala@squ.edu.om
 
  Research interests: 
 
  •  World Englishes
 
  •  Pedagogical Implication of World Englishes
 
  •  Vocabulary Acquisition in EFL Context
 
   
 
    Dr. Fathiya Al Rashdi
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Studies
Assistant Professor
PhD, Sociolinguistics
Extension : 1655
Office No.: 2460

rfathiya@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests: 
 
  •  Language and Social Media
 
  •  Language and Culture
 
  •  Language and Identity Construction
 
   
 

blank637081070308501577

Dr. Fatma Al Rubaiey
Assistant Professor

PhD, Applied Linguistics, Pragmatics
Language Culture & Identity
Extension: 3822
Office No: 1200

rubaiey@squ.edu.om
 
  Research interests:
 
  •  Pragmatics
 
  •  Culture
 
  •  Identity
 
   
 

DrGerard

  Dr Gerard Dineen
Assistant Professor

PhD, Anglo-Irish Literature
Extension: 2015
Office No: 1202

gerard@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests:
  
  •  Late nineteenth and early twentieth century Anglo-Irish literature
 
  • The early fiction of George A. Birmingham
 
   
 
Dr. Khalid Al Belushi
Assistant Professor

PhD, Literary Stylistics & Translation 
Extension: 2015 
Office No.: 1202 

khalidb@squ.edu.om 
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests: 
 
  •  Teaching English Literature
 
  • Omani Literature
 
  • Translation
 
 
 
  Dr. Kirsten Hemmy
Assistant Professor

PhD, Creative Writing
Extension: 2095
Office No.: 1207

kabadji@squ.edu.om 
  Research interests:
 
  • Creative Writing
 
  • Interdisciplinarity in the Arts
 
  • poetry
Dr. Majda Atieh 
Assistant Professor

PhD, in English
Extension: 2023
Office No.: 1206

m.atieh@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests:
 
  • Writings of the African Diaspora
 
  • Subversive art of narration 
 
  •  Disability studies
 
 
  Dr. Maryam Alhinai
Head of Quality Assurance and Academic Accreditation Unit
Assistant Professor

PhD, Intercultural communication
Extension: 2035
Office No.: 1198

maryama@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests: 
 
  • Intercultural Communication 
 
  • Ecocultural communication
 
  • Critical Cultural Discourse
 
 
  Dr. Mohammed Al-Alawi
Assistant Dean for Postgraduate Studies and Research
Assistant Professor 
PhD, Second Language Education 
Extension: 2979 
Office No.: 1216 

malawi@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
 
  Research interests:
 
  • Second Language Writing
 
  • Writing Assessment 
 
  • Program Evaluation
 
   
 
  Dr. Mohammed AlBatineh
Assistant Professor

PhD, Translation Studies
Extension: 2095 
Office No.: 1207 

M.albatineh@squ.edu.om 
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests: 
 
  • Localization
 
  • Translation Technologies
 
  • Corpus-based Translation Studies
 
   
 
  Dr. Mohamed-Habib Kahlaoui
Assistant Professor

PhD, Contrastive Linguistics 
Extension: 2095 
Office No.: 1207 

azizk@squ.edu.om 
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests: 
 
  • Contrastive Linguistics
 
  • Translation Studies
 
  • Discourse Analysis and Intercultural Rhetoric
 
   
 
    Dr. Mounir Ben Zid
Assistant Professor

PhD, English Language & Literature
Extension: 3280
Office No.: 1119

mounir@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests:
 
  • Literary Criticism
 
  • Literary Linguistics
 
  • Poetry Translation
 
   
 
  Dr. Said Al Jahdhami 
Assistant Professor

PhD, Linguistics
Extension: 3278
Office No: 1197

saidhz@squ.edu.om

Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests:
 
  •  Endangered Languages
 
  •  Documentary Linguistic
 
  • Dialectology
 
 
   
Dr. Sakina Al Alaoui
Assistant Professor

PhD - Sociolinguistics
Extension: 3285
Office No: 1204

Sakina@squ.edu.om
  Research interests:
 
  • Sociolinguistics
 
  • Discourse Analysis
 
  • Discourse and Identity
 
   
 
    Dr. Susanne Shunnaq
Assistant Professor

Literature
Extension:3282
Office: 0075

susanne99@squ.edu.om 
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests:
 
  • American Literature
 
  • Cultural Studies
 
  • Modern and Contemporary Prose
 
   
 
  Dr. Sara Al Sheyadi
Lecturer
PhD, Sociolinguistics-University of Essex, Uk, 2021
Extension: 2020
Office: 1205

alsheyadi@squ.edu.om
  Research interests:
 
  • Sociolinguistics 
 
  • Dialectology 
 
  • Theoretical Linguistics
   
 
 
  Dr. Suaad Ambusaidi 
Assistant Professor
PhD, Newcastle University, UK
Extension: 2035
Office: 1198

suaada@squ.edu.om
Curriculum Vitae
  Research interests:
 
  • Sociolinguistics
 
  • Dialect Change
 
  • Language Variation
   
 
 
Mr. Hammal Al Belushi
MA, Linguistics
On Study Leave
hammal@squ.edu.om