Industrial Advisory Board

Department Advisory Boards are the focal communication channels that enhance partnership between the University and various stakeholders & societal establishments. These advisory boards enable such institutions to offer advice, consultation and feedback on a number of areas related to teaching, research and community service activities. This feedback greatly helps to improve the quality of teaching and learning, research and community service, and helps to enhance cooperation between relevant institutions nationally, regionally and internationally.

The ECE Department Advisory Board Responsibilities are listed below:

  1. Offer consultations to the ECE Department Board on academic, research and community service plans.
  2. Suggest ways of developing and enhancing field training.
  3. Offer suggestions on increasing employment opportunities for Department graduates and on enhancing the labor market skills of graduating students.
  4. Enhance cooperation between the ECE Department and other institutions.
  5. Support the ECE Department activities and interaction with the society.
  6. Showcase the ECE Department achievements and activities to the society and to relevant institutions.
  7. Help the ECE Department get funding for infrastructure, research grants, scholarships and donations.
  8. Help the ECE department  in soliciting funds for scholarships and endowments.
  9. Help in placing students for work experience programs.


ECED Advisory Board Members (updated: February 2020)









Dr. Mohammed Al-Badi

(Chair of ECED advisory board)

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Sultan Qaboos University

Associate Professor/

Head of the department




Prof. Abdullah Al Badi

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Sultan Qaboos University

Professor/faculty member





Dr. Ahmed Al-Maashri

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Sultan Qaboos University

Assistant Professor/ faculty member




Engr. Abdullah Al Badri

Voltamp Energy SAOG

Chief Executive Officer





Engr. Ala Moosa Al-Lawati

Muscat Electricity Distribution Company (MEDC)

Chief Executive Officer




His Excellency Dr. Ali Amur Ali Al-Shidhani

Ministry of Transport, Communications and Information Technology

Undersecretary for Communication
and Information Technology

Ministry of Transport, Communications and Information Technology (




Engr. Hamed Salim Hamed Al Maghdari

Al Maha Petroleum Products

Chief Executive Officer





Engr. Masoud Salam Mohamed  Al Reyami

Oman Electricity Transmission Company (OETC)

Acting Chief Executive Officer




Engr. Ahmed Hassan Al-Haddabi

Telecommunication Regulatory Authority - Oman (TRA)

Senior manager - Licensing and Compliance 




Engr. Ibrahim Al-Harthy

Authority for Public Services Regulation (APSR)

Director of Technical Regulation





Engr. Khamis Al-Barhi


Head of Technology Manager at Awasr




Engr. Abdullah Al-Rashdi

Petroleum Development Oman LLC. (PDO)

Senior Technology Architect





Engr. Juma Nasser Said Al Naabi

Oman Telecommunication Company S.A.O.G (Omantel)

Senior Manager Project Acceptance Management